The First International Conference on


Advances in Synthesis, Studies and Applications

Karpacz, Poland

21-26 September 2008


The Conference is devoted to the different aspects of novel rare earth materials. In particular the scope of conference includes the technology of fabrication of rare earth materials and the studies of their fundamental optical, electric and magnetic properties in view of their applications. The Conference is a continuation of our earlier conferences subjected to rare earth materials – ESTE (Excited States of Transition Elements) and SSRES (Structure and Spectroscopy of Rare Earth Systems).
The conference aims to provide by plenary lectures a broad overview of the current state of the art in the theory and practical applications of physical phenomena in the rare earth and transition metal elements. Contributed lectures will emphasize the most recent developments. There will be poster sessions directed towards problems still in the course of solution.

Tentative list of invited speakers:

  • Luisa E. Bausá (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  • Marco Bettinelli (Univ. Verona, Italy)
  • Georges Boulon (UCBL, France)
  • Philippe Boutinaud (ENSCCF, France)
  • John A. Capobianco (Concordia University, Canada)
  • Hywel Davies (University of Sheffield, U.K.)
  • Hirotoshi Fukunaga (Nagasaki University, Japan)
  • José García Solé (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  • Yuri Grin (Max-Planck-Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Germany)
  • Olivier Guillot-Noël (ENSCP, France)
  • Jorma Hölsä (University of Turku, Finland)
  • Marie-France Joubert (CNRS-UCBL, France)
  • Alexander A. Kaminskii (Institute of Crystallography, Russia)
  • Ulrich Kynast (University of Applied Sciences Muenster, Germany)
  • Rachid Mahiou (CNRS, France)
  • Oscar Malta (Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Recife, Brazil)
  • Silvio Quici (CNR-Istituto di Scienze e Tecnologie Molecolari, Italy)
  • Marina Popova (Institute of Spectroscopy, Russia)
  • Renata Reisfeld (The Hebrew University, Israel)
  • Ralph Skomski (University of Nebraska, USA)
  • Chun-Hua Yan (Peking University, China)